• Version
  • Download 33
  • File Size 78.08 KB
  • File Count 1
  • Create Date June 5, 2016
  • Last Updated June 5, 2016

Proclamation #210 - Corrections Employee Week

WHEREAS, Pennsylvania’s correctional system is the oldest in the nation, evolving from the establishment of Philadelphia’s Walnut Street Jail in 1773 and the Eastern Penitentiary in 1829; and
WHEREAS, the “Pennsylvania System,” as it became known, was the leading influence in the development of penology throughout the 19th Century and the forerunner of modern corrections; and
WHEREAS, today Pennsylvania faces new and difficult challenges in corrections. With 26 state correctional institutions, a training academy, 14 community corrections centers and 39 contract facilities, a motivational boot camp, 63 county prisons and jails and 15 federal institutions, our correctional facilities house more than 100,000 inmates; and
WHEREAS, the secure and safe operation and management of those facilities on a daily basis rests in the hands of more than 28,875 trained, skilled and dedicated corrections professionals. They are administrators, corrections officers, counselors, treatment specialists, educators, clerical support staff, business administrators and purchasing agents, personnel and labor relations specialists, clergy, medical professionals, food service specialists, computer technicians, planners and research analysts and skilled craftspeople upon whose skills, efficiency and professionalism the functions of the Pennsylvania correctional system depends; and
WHEREAS, although each of these dedicated professionals work in a different field and specialize in a specific area, all are committed to a common goal: the secure, safe and humane operation of our Commonwealth’s correctional facilities.
NOW THEREFORE, We, the Commissioners of Warren County, hereby proclaim May 1-7, 2016 as Corrections Employee Week. We also encourage everyone to recognize the vital role these dedicated professionals play in ensuring the effective operation of our correctional system in the interest of public safety.
ADOPTED THIS 13th day of April 2016.
Cindy Morrison
Benjamin Kafferlin
Attest: Vice Chair
Pamela J. Matve Jeff Eggleston
Chief Clerk Secretary