• Version
  • Download 0
  • File Size 228.13 KB
  • File Count 1
  • Create Date April 19, 2021
  • Last Updated April 19, 2021

417 Sexual Assault Awareness Month



APRIL 2021


WHEREAS, Sexual Assault Awareness Month is intended to draw attention to the fact that sexual violence is widespread and impacts the Warren County with A Safe Place providing sexual assault support services to 96 men, women and children in 2018; and


WHEREAS, Healthy sexuality means having the knowledge and power to express sexuality in ways that enrich our lives.  It’s about every person being able to make consensual, respectful and informed choices.  There is no room for pressure, violence, or control; and


WHEREAS, A Safe Place has placed child sexual abuse prevention a priority in providing over 30 programs to 2,145 students in Warren County in 2018 to confront the reality that one in six boys and one in four girls will experience a sexual assault before the age 18 and;


WHEREAS, we must work together to educate our community about sexual violence prevention, supporting survivors, and speaking out against harmful attitudes and actions; and


WHEREAS, with leadership, dedication, and encouragement, there is evidence that we can be successful in preventing sexual violence in Warren County through increased education, awareness, and community involvement; and


WHEREAS, A Safe Place strongly supports the efforts of national, state, and local partners, and of every citizen, to actively engage in public and private efforts to prevent sexual violence. It’s time for all of us to start conversations, take appropriate action and support one another to create a safer environment for all whom live and work in our community.


NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, The Warren County Commissioners, join advocates and communities across the country in playing an active role to prevent sexual violence. Along with the United States Government and State of Pennsylvania, we do hereby proclaim April as “Sexual Assault Awareness Month!”


ADOPTED, this 24th day of March, 2021.




Benjamin Kafferlin


Tricia D. Durbin

Attest:                                                                                         Vice Chair


Pamela J. Matve                                                                      Jeff Eggleston

Chief Clerk                                                                                Commissioner