• Version
  • Download 7
  • File Size 235.47 KB
  • File Count 1
  • Create Date July 23, 2020
  • Last Updated July 23, 2020

07/08/2020 Commissioner Public Meeting Minutes

Warren County Commissioners Public Meeting

July 8, 2020 12:25 p.m.

Jackson Courtroom


Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin called the meeting of the Warren County Commissioners to order with Commissioner Tricia Durbin and Jeff Eggleston present.


Staff Present: Lisa Rivett and Pamela Matve, Chief Clerk. Lori Bimber, Register and Recorder, Lisa Rivett, Director of Elections, Kim Exley, Human Resource Administrator, Kaylan Miller, Chris Stuart, Danielle Gardner, Brenda Beers, Levi Stanko, Mark Saporito, Kathleen Jones, Michael Lion, Michael Grubbs, Nancy Morris, Matt Gernold, Aaron Mocny, Collin Manelick, Dan Maeder, Bonnie Webster, Kim Corey, and Ronna Tipton, Director of Human Services


Citizens Present: Josh Cotton (WTO), and Jane Dunshie


Announcements: None


Meetings held since the last meeting: Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that there has been one executive session to discuss the Trump Campaign Law Suit this morning, and there have been a couple meetings where two or more commissioners were in attendance. These were the Broadband Task Force, Lumber Heritage,


Correspondence: None


Public Comment: None


Consent Agenda:


  • Agenda Content: no changes to the agenda to be made


Minutes from the June 24, 2020 Public Meeting: No corrections or additions to be made.


Fiscal Report: Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that balance in the general fund is $1,010,282.00 and in the Erie Bank Account, $649,871.00.


Personnel Report: Kim Exley, Human Resource Administrator reviewed the personnel report



  • Pretrial, Probation and Parole Supervision Week
  • National Disability Voter Registration Week


Commissioner Jeff Eggleston took a moment to thank the Probation Officers, both Juvenile and Adult, for all the work they do to help those they counsel find a different way of living. Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin and Commissioner Tricia Durbin echoed this statement.


Mike Grubbs, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer, took a moment to state that Warren County has dedicated and hardworking probations officers, and that their work sometimes goes unnoticed. He then thanked his staff for all their hard work.


Mike Walters, Deputy Chief Adult Probation Officer took a moment to thank his officers for their hard work and dedication.


Commissioner Jeff Eggleston spoke from experience of driving disabled voters to their polling places. He said stop and think about those that cannot get out to vote. Mail in ballots are a way for them to vote.


Lisa Rivett, Director of Elections stated that everyone who wants to vote should have that chance.


Motion was made by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston, seconded by Commissioner Tricia Durbin to approve the agenda, the minutes from the commissioner meeting of June 24, 2020, the proclamations and the personnel report. Motion carried unanimously.


Old Business: None


New Business:


Agreement with Susquehanna Accounting & Consulting: Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that this agreement is in line with the Zelenkofske & Axelrod agreement for the CARES ACT funding. They are a reputable company and they have worked with the county on the EIP Program. SAC will help the county in some areas of the CARES ACT funding along with Zelenkofske & Axelrod.


Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin then reviewed the cost and stated that the agreement is not to exceed $10,000.00.


Motion was made by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston, seconded by Commissioner Tricia Durbin to approve the agreement with Susquehanna Accounting & Consulting for their consultation with the CARES ACT funding, and the agreement is not to exceed $10,000.00. Motion carried unanimously.


Appointment to the Housing Authority: Commissioner Jeff Eggleston stated William Ashker lives in a property owned by the Housing Authority and would be an added asset to the Board.


Motion was made by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston, seconded by Commissioner Tricia Durbin to appoint William Ashker to the Housing Authority Board. Motion carried unanimously.


Resolution 3146-1 Extending the EMS Task Force: Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin stated that the EMS Task Force was to exist until the end of July, but due to COVID they could not meet. Therefore, he is requesting that the task force be extended until December 31, 2020.


Motion was made by Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin, seconded by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston to approve Resolution 3146-1 to extend the EMS Task Force until December 31, 2020. Motion carried unanimously.


Letter of Support for Youngsville TV and IDA Appointments: Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin explained that Youngsville TV Corporation (YTV) approached the Commissioners at a recent Work Session, requesting a Warren County authority be used to support their efforts in participating in a broadband “dark fiber” reverse auction.


Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin went on to explain that the authority to handle this would be the Warren County Industrial Development Authority (IDA). This authority has been in place for many years, just not active at this time. Therefore, he recommends appointing the following community members to the IDA to reconstitute the board, evaluate YTV’s proposal, as well as any subsequent opportunities pertaining to broadband deployment in Warren County. This should not limit the IDA’s scope of work in any way, but is simply meant to convey that the Commissioners believe broadband deployment to be of central importance at this time for the development of business, industry and all commerce in Warren County:


  • Troy Clawson, Youngsville Borough, TMC Tax Experience
  • Dan Glotz, City of Warren, Warren County Planning & Zoning
  • Albert Loranger III, Conewango Township, AVAS
  • Amy Stewart, Warren County School District
    • Alternate: Matt Jones
  • Diana Elmquist, Sugar Grove Township, Skylon Mold Inc.

Commissioner Benjamin Kafferlin is also recommending these appointments be effective immediately and all expire on December 31, 2021.


Motion was made by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston, seconded by Commissioner Tricia Durbin to approve the appointment of the IDA members as presented along with providing a letter of support to Youngsville TV so that they can participate in the reverse auction in October. Motion carried unanimously.


Human Services Block Grant Annual Plan: Ronna Tipton, Director of Human Services stated that the commissioners were emailed the draft report, as it is a 55-page document. Each year Human Services must submit their plan as to what priorities they will spend the funding. Ronna stated that these areas are, independent living skills, Moms on wheels program, mobile crisis service and housing.


Motion was made by Commissioner Jeff Eggleston, seconded by Commissioner Tricia Durbin to approve the priorities as presented by Ronna Tipton. Motion carried unanimously.


Commissioner Jeff Eggleston took a moment to thank Ronna Tipton for her hard work and dedication to address the issues our county needs.




Commissioner Comments:


Adjournment:  Motion was made Commissioner Jeff Eggleston, seconded by Commissioner Tricia Durbin to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.


Meeting adjourned 12:51 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,                                                                     Approved:


Pamela J. Matve                                                                                  Jeff Eggleston, Secretary

Chief Clerk                                                                                           Warren County Commissioner