Download 20
Total Views 14
File Size 754.50 KB
File Type pdf
Create Date April 12, 2019
Last Updated April 12, 2019



APRIL 2019


WHEREAS,    child abuse is a community problem and finding solutions depends on involvement among people throughout the community.


WHEREAS,    approximately 47,485 thousand children are reported abused and neglected in Pennsylvania for 2017. This has increased 3,129 children since 2016.


WHEREAS,    the effects of child abuse are felt by whole communities and need to be addressed by the entire community.


WHEREAS,    effective child abuse prevention programs succeed because of partnerships created among social service agencies, schools, religious and civic organizations, law enforcement agencies, and the business community.


WHEREAS,    Pinwheels for Prevention will be placed in the courthouse yard as a symbol for child abuse and neglect prevention. Pinwheels representing the 272 births in Warren County in 2018 will be placed on the court house lawn. These serve as a reminder for our community to take an active role in preventing child abuse and neglect.


AND FURTHER, we commend the Children and Youth Advisory Committee, CASA of Warren and Forest Counties the Exchange Club of Warren and the Warren County Children’s Advocacy Center for providing such information to our people and urge full support of their successful effort, in concert with local community agencies, public and private, to establish a community-wide network of education and treatment where abusing parents and children are at last finding new hope and effective support.


NOW, THEREFORE, the Commissioners of Warren County do hereby proclaim April as Child Abuse Prevention Month in Warren County and call upon all citizens, community agencies, religious organizations, medical facilities, and businesses to increase their participation in our efforts to prevent child abuse, thereby strengthening the communities in which we live.


ADOPTED, this 27th day of March, 2019.





Benjamin Kafferlin




Cindy Morrison

Attest:                                                                   Vice Chair



Pamela J. Matve                                                   Jeff Eggleston

Chief Clerk                                                           Secretary